To the government of Tunisia

0
1820

To the government of Tunisia,

We, the undersigned human rights organisations, write to express our deep concern about the current situation of Zakaria (“Zaki”) Hannache, an Algerian human rights defender, whose extradition has been recently requested by the Algerian authorities. We hereby wish to remind you that he enjoys international protection as a refugee and that the UN Committee against Torture asked you, as recently as March 6, 2023, not to extradite him to Algeria.

Since 2019, Hannache has been documenting and publishing information on the arrests and prosecutions of prisoners of conscience in Algeria, particularly in relation to the peaceful protest movement known as Hirak.

Following his arrest in February 2022, he faced several charges linked to his activism. After being detained for six weeks in Algeria, he was provisionally released on bail in March 2022. In the following months, Hannache was subject to acts of intimidation and pressure, prompting him to travel to Tunisia where he sought medical support in August 2022.

On November 9, 2022, Hannache learned that he had been summoned to a hearing in the court of Sidi M’hamed in Algiers, scheduled for November 13. This prompted him to apply for asylum with the office of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) the next day. He learned that Tunisian police, specifically the anti-terrorist brigade, had inquired about him in at least two locations in Tunis during the week of November 15. He was granted refugee status by the UNHCR on November 18, 2022.

Tunisia has previously cooperated with Algeria in its efforts to forcibly return exiled peaceful opponents and human rights defenders. This was apparently the case for Slimane Bouhafs, a UNHCR-recognized refugee and Christian Amazigh activist who was abducted and forcibly returned from Tunis on August 25, 2021.

Fearing a repetition of the dangerous precedent set by the extrajudicial return of Slimane Bouhafs, MENA Rights Group and a Tunis-based human rights researcher submitted a request for interim measures on behalf of Zaki Hannache before the UN Committee against Torture, which were transmitted to your government on December 5, 2022.

On March 2, 2023, Hannache learned that the court of Sidi M’hamed had sentenced him in absentia to 3 years in prison. Neither he nor his lawyers were aware of the trial’s occurrence. One of his lawyers coincidentally discovered the decision while dealing with a separate case in court. Another of his lawyers confirmed that an international arrest warrant and an extradition request were sent by Algeria the same day. In light of this new development, the Committee against Torture sent you a follow-up communication on March 6, 2023, asking you not to extradite Hannache.

The undersigned organisations recall that as a refugee, Hannache is protected from refoulement by the 1951 UN Refugee Convention that your country has ratified as well as under the OAU Convention Governing the Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa. As a State  party to the 1984 Convention against Torture, Tunisia is bound not to expel, return or extradite a person to another State where there are substantial grounds for believing that he would be in danger of being subjected to torture. As such, we call on your government to respect Hannache’s international protection and to inform the Committee against Torture of your willingness not to extradite him while his case is under review.

 

Signatories:

– ACAT-France

– Amnesty International Tunisia 

– ARTICLE 19

– Cairo Institute For Human Rights (CIHRS)

– Centre Justitia pour la protection juridique des droits de l’Homme en Algérie

– EuroMed Rights

– FIDH (International Federation for Human Rights), within the framework of the Observatory for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders

– Forum Tunisien pour les Droits Économiques et Sociaux FTDES

– Human Rights Foundation (HRF)

– Human Rights Watch (HRW)

– HuMENA for Human Rights and Civic Engagement 

– International Service for Human Rights (ISHR)

– Ligue Algérienne de défense des droits humains – LADDH ALGÉRIE

– MENA Rights Group

– Minority Rights Group

– Terre d’Asile Tunisie

– World Organisation Against Torture (OMCT), in the framework of the Observatory for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders

Au gouvernement tunisien: Zaki Hannache

0
1626

Au gouvernement tunisien,

Nous soussignées, organisations de défense des droits humains, vous écrivons pour vous faire part de notre profonde inquiétude quant à la situation actuelle de Zakaria (“Zaki”) Hannache, défenseur algérien des droits humains, dont l’extradition a récemment été demandée par les autorités algériennes. Par la présente, nous souhaitons vous rappeler qu’en tant que réfugié, M. Hannache bénéficie d’une protection internationale, et que le Comité contre la torture vous a demandé, pas plus tard que le 6 mars 2023, de ne pas l’expulser vers l’Algérie.

Depuis 2019, M. Hannache documente et publie des informations concernant les arrestations et les poursuites de prisonniers d’opinion en Algérie, particulièrement en relation avec le mouvement de protestation pacifique connu sous le nom de Hirak.

Suite à son arrestation en février 2022, M. Hannache a fait l’objet de plusieurs accusations liées à son activisme. Après avoir été détenu durant plusieurs semaines en Algérie, il a été provisoirement libéré en mars 2022. Dans les mois qui ont suivi, M. Hannache a été la cible d’actes d’intimidation et de pression l’amenant à se rendre en Tunisie, où il a sollicité un suivi médical en août 2022.

 

Le 9 novembre 2022, M. Hannache a été informé de sa convocation pour une audience au tribunal de Sidi M’hamed à Alger, prévue le 13 novembre. Cette convocation l’a conduit à requérir le statut de réfugié auprès du Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les Réfugiés (HCR) dès le lendemain. Dans la semaine du 15 novembre, M. Hannache a appris que la police tunisienne, plus particulièrement la brigade anti-terroriste, le recherchait dans divers endroits de Tunis. Le statut de réfugié a été accordé à M. Hannache par le HCR le 18 novembre 2022.

 

Par le passé, la Tunisie a déjà coopéré avec l’Algérie afin de procéder à des renvois forcés d’opposants pacifiques et des défenseurs de droits humains en exil. Tel est le cas de Slimane Bouhafs, réfugié reconnu par le HCR et militant chrétien amazigh, qui a été enlevé et renvoyé de force de Tunis en Algérie le 25 août 2021. 

 

Craignant une répétition du dangereux précédent provoqué par le renvoi de Slimane Bouhafs, MENA Rights Group et une chercheuse en droits humains basée à Tunis ont soumis une demande de mesures provisoires au nom de Zaki Hannache devant le Comité des Nations unies contre la torture, qui a été transmise à votre gouvernement le 5 décembre 2022.

 

Le 2 mars 2023, M. Hannache a appris que le tribunal de Sidi M’hamed l’avait condamné in absentia à 3 ans de prison. Ni lui ni ses avocats n’étaient au courant de la tenue du procès. L’un de ses avocats n’a pris connaissance de la condamnation que par hasard, alors qu’il s’occupait d’une autre affaire en cours de jugement. Un autre de ses conseils a confirmé qu’un mandat d’arrêt international et une demande d’extradition avaient été lancés à l’encontre de M. Hannache par l’Algérie le même jour. À la lumière de ce nouveau développement, le Comité contre la torture vous a envoyé une communication le 6 mars 2023, vous demandant à nouveau de ne pas expulser M. Hannache.

 

Les organisations soussignées rappellent qu’en tant que réfugié, M. Hannache est protégé par la Convention de Genève de 1951, ratifiée par votre pays, ainsi que par la Convention de l’OUA régissant les aspects propres aux problèmes des réfugiés en Afrique. La Tunisie étant également partie à la Convention contre la torture, votre gouvernement ne devrait pas expulser, renvoyer ou extrader une personne vers un autre État où il y a des motifs sérieux de croire qu’elle risque d’être soumise à la torture. À ce titre, nous demandons à votre gouvernement de s’engager à respecter la protection internationale dont M. Hannache bénéficie et d’informer le Comité contre la torture de votre volonté de ne pas l’expulser tant que son dossier est en cours d’examen.

 

Signataires :

 

– ACAT-France

– Amnesty International Tunisie

– ARTICLE 19

– Cairo Institute For Human Rights (CIHRS)

– Centre Justitia pour la protection juridique des droits de l’Homme en Algérie

– EuroMed Rights

– Fédération internationale pour les droits humains (FIDH), dans le cadre de l’Observatoire pour la protection des défenseurs des droits humains

– Forum Tunisien pour les Droits Économiques et Sociaux FTDES

– Human Rights Foundation (HRF)

– Human Rights Watch (HRW)

– HuMENA pour les Droits de l’Homme et l’Engagement Civique

– International Service for Human Rights (ISHR)

– Ligue Algérienne de défense des droits humains – LADDH ALGÉRIE

– Organisation Mondiale Contre la Torture (OMCT); dans le cadre de l’Observatoire pour la protection des défenseurs des droits humains

– MENA Rights Group

– Minority Rights Group

– Terre d’Asile Tunisie