Suleiman Bouhas case: Tunisia fails to respect its international obligations to protect refugees

0
326

Suleiman Bouhas case: Tunisia fails to respect its international obligations to protect refugees

 

After the undersigned organisations learned of the disappearance of Algerian political activist Suleiman Bouhafs (54) in Tunisia under mysterious circumstances. Eyewitnesses reported that cars with unknown license plates arrived on 25 August at the house where the Algerian activist lives and took him to an unknown destination. On Sunday, Algerian media sites announced that Suleiman Buhafs was handed over by the Tunisian authorities to their Algerian counterpart, where he will be presented before the Algerian justice.

 

Suleiman Buhafs came to Tunisia, where the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees granted him refugee status under number 255-15C0059,  September 2020. The international protection that Suleiman Buhafs obtained obliges the Tunisian authorities, signatories of the 1951 Geneva Convention and its 1967 Protocol and the 1984 Convention against Torture, not to return him under duress.

 

The signatory organisations :

 

Expresses its indignation at the dangerous precedent set by the Tunisian State of handing over a refugee benefiting from international protection to the authorities of his country, who are prosecuting him on the basis of his political stance.

It calls on the Tunisian State to respect its international commitments in this delicate circumstance and to ensure the protection of human rights and the rights of refugees.

It considers that the establishment of friendly relations with a friendly country should not be at the expense of respect for international obligations and human rights.

Signatory organisationsSuleiman Bouhas case: Tunisia fails to respect its international obligations to protect refugees

 

After the undersigned organisations learned of the disappearance of Algerian political activist Suleiman Bouhafs (54) in Tunisia under mysterious circumstances. Eyewitnesses reported that cars with unknown license plates arrived on 25 August at the house where the Algerian activist lives and took him to an unknown destination. On Sunday, Algerian media sites announced that Suleiman Buhafs was handed over by the Tunisian authorities to their Algerian counterpart, where he will be presented before the Algerian justice.

 

Suleiman Buhafs came to Tunisia, where the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees granted him refugee status under number 255-15C0059,  September 2020. The international protection that Suleiman Buhafs obtained obliges the Tunisian authorities, signatories of the 1951 Geneva Convention and its 1967 Protocol and the 1984 Convention against Torture, not to return him under duress.

 

The signatory organisations :

 

Expresses its indignation at the dangerous precedent set by the Tunisian State of handing over a refugee benefiting from international protection to the authorities of his country, who are prosecuting him on the basis of his political stance.

It calls on the Tunisian State to respect its international commitments in this delicate circumstance and to ensure the protection of human rights and the rights of refugees.

It considers that the establishment of friendly relations with a friendly country should not be at the expense of respect for international obligations and human rights.

Signatory organisationsSuleiman Bouhas case: Tunisia fails to respect its international obligations to protect refugees

 

After the undersigned organisations learned of the disappearance of Algerian political activist Suleiman Bouhafs (54) in Tunisia under mysterious circumstances. Eyewitnesses reported that cars with unknown license plates arrived on 25 August at the house where the Algerian activist lives and took him to an unknown destination. On Sunday, Algerian media sites announced that Suleiman Buhafs was handed over by the Tunisian authorities to their Algerian counterpart, where he will be presented before the Algerian justice.

 

Suleiman Buhafs came to Tunisia, where the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees granted him refugee status under number 255-15C0059,  September 2020. The international protection that Suleiman Buhafs obtained obliges the Tunisian authorities, signatories of the 1951 Geneva Convention and its 1967 Protocol and the 1984 Convention against Torture, not to return him under duress.

 

The signatory organisations :

 

Expresses its indignation at the dangerous precedent set by the Tunisian State of handing over a refugee benefiting from international protection to the authorities of his country, who are prosecuting him on the basis of his political stance.

It calls on the Tunisian State to respect its international commitments in this delicate circumstance and to ensure the protection of human rights and the rights of refugees.

It considers that the establishment of friendly relations with a friendly country should not be at the expense of respect for international obligations and human rights.

Signatory organisations

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
S'il vous plaît entrer votre nom ici

*

Affaire Suleiman Bouhas : la Tunisie manque à ses obligations internationales de protection des réfugiés

0
646

Affaire Suleiman Bouhas : la Tunisie manque à ses obligations internationales de protection des réfugiés

Après que les organisations soussignées ont appris la disparition du militant politique algérien Suleiman Bouhafs (54 ans) en Tunisie dans des circonstances mystérieuses. Des témoins oculaires ont rapporté que des voitures avec des plaques d’immatriculation inconnues sont arrivées le 25 août à la maison où vit le militant algérien et l’ont emmené vers une destination inconnue. Dimanche, les sites des médias algériens ont annoncé que Suleiman Bouhafs a été remis par les autorités tunisiennes à leur homologue algérien, où il sera présenté devant la justice algérienne.

Suleiman Buhafs est venu en Tunisie, où le Haut Commissaire des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés lui a accordé le statut de réfugié sous le numéro 255-15C0059, depuis  septembre 2020. La protection internationale que Suleiman Buhafs obtenue s’impose aux autorités tunisiennes, signataires de la Convention de Genève de 1951 et son Protocole de 1967 et la Convention de 1984 contre la torture, de ne pas le renvoyer sous la contrainte.

Les organisations signataires :

Exprime son indignation devant le dangereux précédent causé par l’Etat tunisien de remise d’un réfugié bénéficiant d’une protection internationale aux autorités de son pays, qui le poursuivent sur la base de ses prises de position politiques.

Elle appelle l’Etat tunisien à respecter ses engagements internationaux dans cette circonstance délicate et à assurer la protection des droits humains et des droits des réfugiés.

Elle considère que l’établissement de relations amicales avec un pays ami ne doit pas se faire au détriment du respect des obligations internationales et des droits de l’homme.

Organisations signataires

Affaire Suleiman Bouhas : la Tunisie manque à ses obligations internationales de protection des réfugiés

Après que les organisations soussignées ont appris la disparition du militant politique algérien Suleiman Bouhafs (54 ans) en Tunisie dans des circonstances mystérieuses. Des témoins oculaires ont rapporté que des voitures avec des plaques d’immatriculation inconnues sont arrivées le 25 août à la maison où vit le militant algérien et l’ont emmené vers une destination inconnue. Dimanche, les sites des médias algériens ont annoncé que Suleiman Bouhafs a été remis par les autorités tunisiennes à leur homologue algérien, où il sera présenté devant la justice algérienne.

Suleiman Buhafs est venu en Tunisie, où le Haut Commissaire des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés lui a accordé le statut de réfugié sous le numéro 255-15C0059, depuis  septembre 2020. La protection internationale que Suleiman Buhafs obtenue s’impose aux autorités tunisiennes, signataires de la Convention de Genève de 1951 et son Protocole de 1967 et la Convention de 1984 contre la torture, de ne pas le renvoyer sous la contrainte.

Les organisations signataires :

Exprime son indignation devant le dangereux précédent causé par l’Etat tunisien de remise d’un réfugié bénéficiant d’une protection internationale aux autorités de son pays, qui le poursuivent sur la base de ses prises de position politiques.

Elle appelle l’Etat tunisien à respecter ses engagements internationaux dans cette circonstance délicate et à assurer la protection des droits humains et des droits des réfugiés.

Elle considère que l’établissement de relations amicales avec un pays ami ne doit pas se faire au détriment du respect des obligations internationales et des droits de l’homme.

Organisations signataires

Affaire Suleiman Bouhas : la Tunisie manque à ses obligations internationales de protection des réfugiés

Après que les organisations soussignées ont appris la disparition du militant politique algérien Suleiman Bouhafs (54 ans) en Tunisie dans des circonstances mystérieuses. Des témoins oculaires ont rapporté que des voitures avec des plaques d’immatriculation inconnues sont arrivées le 25 août à la maison où vit le militant algérien et l’ont emmené vers une destination inconnue. Dimanche, les sites des médias algériens ont annoncé que Suleiman Bouhafs a été remis par les autorités tunisiennes à leur homologue algérien, où il sera présenté devant la justice algérienne.

Suleiman Buhafs est venu en Tunisie, où le Haut Commissaire des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés lui a accordé le statut de réfugié sous le numéro 255-15C0059, depuis  septembre 2020. La protection internationale que Suleiman Buhafs obtenue s’impose aux autorités tunisiennes, signataires de la Convention de Genève de 1951 et son Protocole de 1967 et la Convention de 1984 contre la torture, de ne pas le renvoyer sous la contrainte.

Les organisations signataires :

Exprime son indignation devant le dangereux précédent causé par l’Etat tunisien de remise d’un réfugié bénéficiant d’une protection internationale aux autorités de son pays, qui le poursuivent sur la base de ses prises de position politiques.

Elle appelle l’Etat tunisien à respecter ses engagements internationaux dans cette circonstance délicate et à assurer la protection des droits humains et des droits des réfugiés.

Elle considère que l’établissement de relations amicales avec un pays ami ne doit pas se faire au détriment du respect des obligations internationales et des droits de l’homme.

Organisations signataires

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
S'il vous plaît entrer votre nom ici

*