Joint statement: 16 Tunisian and international civil society organizations call for the immediate release of Issam Bouguerra

0
1698

Joint statement: 16 Tunisian and international civil society organizations call for the immediate release of Issam Bouguerra

 

Tunisian filmmaker Issam Bouguerra imprisoned since 24 August 2021 was sentenced on 24 November 2022 to 15 months in prison on charges of use and possession of cannabis, which should not be criminalized in the first place. Nevertheless, he was kept in custody despite having already spent more than that time in detention due to an appeal launched by the prosecutor.

The undersigned organizations and individuals urge the Tunisian authorities to immediately release him as his detention is arbitrary due to the nature of the charges and to his continued detention despite the time served in jail. Additionally, Bouguerra is in urgent need of medical assistance that cannot be provided in the prison where he is being held. Finally, we call on the Tunisian authorities to undertake a comprehensive review of all drug laws and policies, including Law N.92-52, to decriminalize the use and possession of drugs for personal use and ensure an expansion of health and other social services to address the risks related to drug use.

On the day of his trial on 24 November 2022, the court of first instance in Ariana, Tunis, sentenced Issam Bouguerra to 15 months in prison. Given the length of time that Issam had already spent in pre-trial detention, he should have been released following the verdict as he had already served this time in jail. However, that same day the prosecutor of the court of first instance of Tunis appealed his sentence to apparently seek a harsher penalty. The hearing before Tunis appeal’s court is scheduled on 13 February 2023.

During his detention, Issam Bouguerra was denied access to urgent and needed adequate healthcare. His father visited him on multiple occasions in Mornaguia prison where he is detained. He told Amnesty International that his son has been suffering from bleeding for several weeks. Due to a history of colon cancer in the family, which lead to Issam Bouguerra’s mother’s death, the family doctor has recommended medical scans every six months. Yet, since his arrest, prison authorities have failed to provide him with the required medical check-ups because the prison medical facility is not equipped to provide the examinations he requires, such as a scan or coloscopy. Issam Bouguerra asked to see a qualified doctor outside the prison repeatedly since April 2022, but prison authorities ignored his requests.

Issam Bouguerra’s ordeal epitomises the suffering of thousands of people deprived of their liberty in Tunisia solely for their use of drugs. According to a recent report by Lawyers Without Borders, more than 2500 individuals were detained for drug related offences in 2019, 60% of them solely for consumption. Prison overcrowding is a long standing issue in Tunisia, with prisons already exceeding their maximum capacity with around 22,000 inmates for 18,000 places, many of them for drug related offences. Tunisian and international civil society organizations have documented the wide array of human rights violations that are facilitated by punitive drug laws, including physical and verbal assault from police officers. While Law n.92-52 was amended in 2017 mainly to reduce prison overcrowding, human rights violations stemming from this law continue unabated.

The prohibition and criminalization of the use and possession of drugs for personal use has failed to decrease the use and availability of drugs, posing instead a direct threat to a person’s health and leading to widespread human rights violations. Despite years of criminalisation, rates of drug use have remained largely stable globally since governments began implementing the prohibition of drugs. As noted by the Special Rapporteur on the right to health, “people invariably continue using drugs irrespective of criminal laws, even though deterrence of drug use is considered the primary justification for imposition of penal sanctions”. Consequently, multiple human rights mechanisms and UN agencies have recommended countries to decriminalize the use and possession of drugs for personal use as a means of protecting public health and human rights.

Issam Bougerra is a 39-year-old Tunisian filmmaker from Kairouan. After studying graphic design in Tunisia, he went to the United States to pursue his passion and studied cinema in Los Angeles. He directed several TV series for Tunisian and Algerian television channels. He is most known for his short film “Faracha” (Butterfly) about the story of a young boy from Kairouan, an impoverished and conservative Tunisian city, who decides to follow his passion despite everyone’s disapproval. “Faracha” was critically acclaimed and won the Couple d’Or for best short fiction film at the second edition of the Mon premier Film Festival in Paris in 2022 while Issam Bouguerra was in jail.

Signatory organizations:

  • Amnesty International
  • Common Memory for Freedom
  • Citizen Movement of Tunisians in France
  • Damj
  • International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH)
  • Intersection for Rights and Freedoms
  • Legal Agenda
  • Lawyers Without Borders (ASF)
  • Mawjoudin
  • Psychologists of the World- Tunisia
  • Tunisian Association for Cultural Action (ACAT)
  • Tunisian Association for the Defense of Children’s Rights (ATDDE)
  • Tunisian Association for the Defense of Individual Rights (ADLI)
  • Tunisian Association of Young Doctors
  • Tunisian Forum for Economic and Social Rights
  • World Organization Against Torture (OMCT)

Signatory individuals:

  • Abdejlil Bouguerra, coordinator of the Free Faracha campaign
  • Allagui Abdelkrim, human rights activist and university professor
  • Asma Sabri
  • Chokri Latif, president of the Organization Against Torture in Tunisia
  • Fatma Zahra
  • Hedia Belhadj, president of the Tawhida Ben Cheikh group and doctor
  • Monia Ben Jemiaa, university professor
  • Mokhtar Trifi, honorary president of the Tunisian Ligue for Human Rights
  • Nabila Hamza, city councillor and sociologist
  • Oussema Helal, lawyer
  • Sana Ben Achour, president of Beity association
  • Selma Hajri, human rights activist, doctor

Déclaration conjointe : 16 organisations de la société civile tunisiennes et internationales demandent la libération immédiate d’Issam Bouguerra.

0
1872

Déclaration conjointe : 16 organisations de la société civile tunisiennes et internationales demandent la libération immédiate d’Issam Bouguerra.

Le réalisateur tunisien Issam Bouguerra, emprisonné depuis le 24 août 2021, a été condamné à 15 mois de prison le 24 novembre 2022 pour des accusations de consommation et détention de cannabis, qui n’auraient jamais dues être érigées en infraction. En raison d’un appel formé par le procureur, il a cependant été maintenu en détention alors qu’il avait déjà passé plus que la durée de sa sentence en prison.

Le réalisateur tunisien Issam Bouguerra, emprisonné depuis le 24 août 2021, a été condamné à 15 mois de prison le 24 novembre 2022 pour des accusations de consommation et détention de cannabis, qui n’auraient jamais dues être érigées en infraction. En raison d’un appel formé par le procureur, il a cependant été maintenu en détention alors qu’il avait déjà passé plus que la durée de sa sentence en prison.

Les organisations et personnes signataires appellent les autorités tunisiennes à le remettre immédiatement en liberté, sa détention étant arbitraire en raison de la nature des accusations portées contre lui et de son maintien en détention, malgré le temps déjà purgé en prison. Issam Bouguerra a en outre besoin de toute urgence d’une assistance médicale qui ne peut lui être fournie dans la prison où il est incarcéré. Enfin, nous demandons également aux autorités tunisiennes d’entreprendre une révision complète de toutes les lois et politiques relatives aux stupéfiants, notamment la Loi n° 92-52, afin de dépénaliser la consommation et la détention de stupéfiants pour un usage personnel et d’étendre la portée du système de santé et d’autres services sociaux afin de traiter les risques liés à la consommation de stupéfiants.

Le jour de son procès, le 24 novembre 2022, le tribunal de première instance d’Ariana, à Tunis, a condamné Issam Bouguerra à 15 mois d’emprisonnement. Compte tenu du temps qu’il avait déjà passé en détention provisoire, il aurait dû être libéré à la suite du jugement, car il avait déjà purgé sa peine. Néanmoins, le jour même, le procureur du tribunal de première instance de Tunis a fait appel de sa condamnation, pour demander apparemment une sanction plus sévère. L’audience devant la Cour d’appel de Tunis doit avoir lieu le 13 février 2023.

Au cours de sa détention, Issam Bouguerra s’est vu refuser l’accès aux soins de santé urgents et adaptés dont il avait besoin. Son père lui a rendu plusieurs fois visite à la prison de Mornaguia, où il était détenu. Il a déclaré à Amnesty International que son fils souffrait de saignements depuis plusieurs semaines. Compte tenu de l’historique de cancer du côlon dans la famille, auquel la mère d’Issam Bouguerra a notamment succombé, le médecin de la famille a recommandé des scanners tous les six mois. Pourtant, depuis son arrestation, les autorités pénitentiaires ne lui ont pas permis de bénéficier de ces examens médicaux, car les installations médicales de la prison ne disposent pas des équipements nécessaires, comme un scanner ou le matériel pour réaliser une coloscopie. Issam Bouguerra a demandé à voir un médecin compétent en dehors de la prison à plusieurs reprises depuis avril 2022, mais les autorités pénitentiaires ont ignoré ses demandes.

Le cas d’Issam Bouguerra est représentatif des souffrances qu’endurent des milliers de personnes privées de liberté en Tunisie pour leur seule consommation de stupéfiants. D’après un récent rapport publié par Avocats sans frontières, plus de 2 500 personnes étaient détenues pour des infractions liées aux stupéfiants en 2019, dont 60 % uniquement pour la consommation de tels produits. La surpopulation carcérale est un problème de longue date en Tunisie, les prisons excédant déjà leur capacité maximale, avec 22 000 détenus pour 18 000 places, une grande partie de ces personnes étant incarcérées pour des infractions liées aux stupéfiants. Des organisations de la société civile tunisiennes et internationales ont dénoncé le vaste éventail d’atteintes aux droits humains qu’entraînent les lois punitives en matière de stupéfiants, notamment des agressions physiques et verbales de la part de policiers. Bien que la Loi n° 92-52 ait été modifiée en 2017, principalement pour réduire la surpopulation carcérale, les atteintes aux droits humains qu’elle engendre restent nombreuses.

L’interdiction et l’incrimination de la possession et de la consommation de stupéfiants pour un usage personnel n’ont pas fait baisser l’utilisation et la disponibilité de ces produits. Par contre, elles constituent une menace directe pour la santé des personnes et engendrent un large éventail d’atteintes aux droits humains. Malgré des années de criminalisation, les taux de consommation de stupéfiants sont restés essentiellement stables dans le monde depuis que les gouvernements ont commencé à mettre en application l’interdiction des stupéfiants. Ainsi que l’a noté la rapporteuse spéciale sur le droit à la santé, « les personnes continuent invariablement de faire usage de stupéfiants, quelles que soient les lois pénales en la matière, même si les mesures de dissuasion de la consommation de stupéfiants sont considérées comme la principale justification pour imposer des sanctions pénales ». C’est pourquoi, dans une optique de protection de la santé publique et des droits humains, plusieurs mécanismes internationaux de protection des droits humains et organes des Nations unies ont recommandé aux pays de dépénaliser la consommation et la détention de stupéfiants pour un usage personnel.

Issam Bouguerra est un réalisateur tunisien de 39 ans, originaire de Kairouan. Après avoir fait des études de graphisme en Tunisie, il s’est rendu aux États-Unis pour suivre sa passion et étudier le cinéma à Los Angeles. Il a réalisé plusieurs séries télévisées pour des chaînes de télévision tunisiennes et algériennes. Il est surtout connu pour son court-métrage « Faracha » (« Papillon ») sur un jeune garçon de Kairouan, ville tunisienne pauvre et conservatrice, ayant décidé de poursuivre son rêve malgré la désapprobation de tous. « Faracha » a été acclamé par la critique et a remporté la Coupole d’or du meilleur court-métrage de fiction lors du festival Mon premier film à Paris, en 2022, alors qu’Issam Bouguerra était emprisonné.

Organisations signataires :

  • Amnesty International
  • Association des Jeunes Médecins
  • Association Tunisienne de l’Action Culturelle (ACAT)
  • Association Tunisienne de Défense des Droits de l’Enfant (ATDDE)
  • Association Tunisienne de Défense des Libertés Individuelles (ADLI)
  • Avocats Sans Frontières (ASF)
  • Damj
  • Fédération Internationale des Droits de l’Homme (FIDH)
  • Forum Tunisien des Droits Economiques et Sociaux (FTDES)
  • Intersection pour les Droits et les Libertés
  • Legal Agenda
  • Le Mouvement Citoyen des Tunisiens en France
  • Mawjoudin
  • Mémoire Commune pour la Liberté
  • Organisation Mondiale Contre la Torture (OMCT)
  • Psychologues du Monde- Tunisie

Personnes signataires :

  • Abdejlil Bouguerra, coordinateur de la campagne Free Faracha
  • Allagui Abdelkrim, activiste des droits humain et professeur d’université
  • Asma Sabri
  • Chokri Latif, président de l’Organisation contre la Torture en Tunisie
  • Fatma Zahra
  • Hedia Belhad, présidente du groupe Tawhida Ben Cheikh et médecin
  • Monia Ben Jemiaa, professeur d’université
  • Mokhtar Trifi, président honoraire de la Ligue Tunisienne des Droits de l’Homme
  • Nabila Hamza, conseille municipale et sociologue
  • Oussema Helal
  • Sana Ben Achour, président de l’Association Beity
  • Selma Hajri, activiste des droits humains et médecin