World refugee day: World leaders should end discrimination and show more solidarity towards asylum seekers, refugees and migrants

0
681

World refugee day: World leaders should end discrimination and show more solidarity towards asylum seekers, refugees and migrants

Joint Statement, 19 June 2020

 As the world is celebrating the Refugee Day, the members of the Migration and Torture working group in Africa call on world leaders who are currently progressively reopening their countries’ borders, following a very severe pandemic, to learn lessons from our collective fragility and understand the need to show solidarity with and provide protection to the most vulnerable groups including asylum seekers, refugees and migrants.

Many countries are recovering from the sanitary crisis that is still affecting the world. COVID-19 has infected more than 8 242 998 persons and killed another 445 535. Migrants, asylum seekers and refugees have been among the most affected groups as they risk a higher exposition to the virus or higher levels of discrimination in their host countries.

End discrimination and ill treatment

As the pandemic has forced world leaders to close their borders, migrants have been victims of discrimination and ill treatments at borders or left in immigration detention facilities without appropriate protection. Indeed, our organizations have received testimonies and alerts on the stigmatizing, discriminatory, inhuman and degrading treatment experienced by migrants at the early stage of the pandemic. Migrants have been forcefully tested and quarantined and deprived to access basic services. Several migrant workers have been evicted from hotels and apartments, denied access to shopping malls, shops, restaurants and imposed tougher quarantine measures. Testimonies reveal many migrants who are homeless and deprived of food because of coercive and discriminatory policies targeting them particularly.

Refugees: overcrowded camps, legal studies and access to basic needs

Forced migrants and internal displaced persons living in shelters, shared accommodation and overcrowded housing with shared kitchens and toilets were unable to self-isolate and respect social distancing. The limitation in resources and priorities of many countries has left overcrowded refugee camps without appropriate facilities to avoid health risks and anxiety about contracting the virus. Refugees in some countries have started strike to obtain adequate financial support.

In many countries’ immigration services are still closed, increasing therefore the vulnerability of undocumented migrants, who are anxious about their legal status. Many refugees or migrants cannot seek medical help and are fearful of health charges or being returned to their countries of origin that most of the time they have forcibly fled.

In addition, the isolation imposed by restrictive measures has exacerbated the already vulnerable mental health and psychosocial wellbeing of refugees and migrants. Most migrants and refugee women are still exposed to sexual violence and some survivors of SGBV don’t have access to the appropriate gender sensitive service.

A call for solidarity during covid19 and beyond: time to learn lessons

If the pandemic has stopped global movements for a while, the reopening of borders should give a specific attention to those who have lived without care and who need solidarity and protection. The pandemic has shown a collective socio-economic fragility, that can only be address collectively.

 The Migration and torture working group in Africa is concerned about the inevitable social and economic crisis that could have a negative effect on the most vulnerable groups and call for:

  • Immigration services to extend document validity to allow refugees, and asylum seekers to benefit for social measures taken for the rest of the population.
  • Security forces at borders to treat with dignity asylum seekers and migrants
  • Social protection entities to provide basic safety nets for all forced migrant populations regardless of legal status;
  • Governments to ensure access to health care for refugees, asylum seekers and migrants and; revoke all medical charges during the covi-19 period
  • Governments to ensure availability of masks and emergency accommodation and safe shelter for those leaving in overcrowded camps or those homeless.
  • Governments to ensure that migrants and refugees have access to mental health services to manage the effects of isolation and quarantine which have exacerbated gender-based violence.

Signatories :

  • DIEYE AminataOrganisation Mondiale Contre la Torture (OMCT)
  • OYAMTA BALDALLigue Tchadienne DH (réseau) /Tchad
  • ALAA TALBIForum Tunisien pour les Droits Économiques et Sociaux (FTDES) /Tunisie
  • MWANGI KEVINIndependent Medico-Legal Unit (IMLU) /Kenya
  • ESTHER NABWIREAfrican Centre for Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture Victims / Uganda
  • ELMEHDI AG WAKINAAssociation Malienne pour la Survie au Sahel (AMSS) /Mali
  • BADAMASSI YAHAYA            Alternative Espaces Citoyens/ Niger
  • MOUSAPHA KEBERéseau Migration développement (REMIDEV) / Sénégal
  • MOHAMMED BADAWIAfrica Centre for Justice and Peace Studies (ACJPS) /Soudan
  • MAITE PAREJO SOUSAAsociación Pro Derechos Humanos de España (APDHE)/Spain
  • SUSANNA MARIETTI                Antigone/Italy

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
S'il vous plaît entrer votre nom ici

*

Journée mondiale des réfugiés : les dirigeants du monde devraient mettre fin à la discrimination et faire preuve de plus de solidarité envers les demandeurs d’asile, les réfugiés et les migrants

0
657

Journée mondiale des réfugiés : les dirigeants du monde devraient mettre fin à la discrimination et faire preuve de plus de solidarité envers les demandeurs d’asile, les réfugiés et les migrants

Déclaration conjointe, 19 juin 2020

Alors que le monde célèbre la journée des réfugiés, le groupe de travail sur la migration et la torture en Afrique appelle les dirigeants mondiaux qui rouvrent actuellement progressivement leurs frontières nationales, à la suite d’une pandémie très violente, à tirer les leçons de notre fragilité collective et de la nécessité faire preuve de plus de solidarité et de protection envers les groupes les plus vulnérables, notamment les demandeurs d’asile, les réfugiés et les migrants.

De nombreux pays se remettent de la crise sanitaire qui frappe toujours le monde. La maladie a touché plus de 8242998 personnes et tué 445535 autres. Les migrants, les demandeurs d’asile et les réfugiés ont été parmi les groupes les plus touchés, risquant une exposition plus élevée au virus ou une discrimination accrue dans leurs pays d’accueil.

Mettre fin à la discrimination et aux mauvais traitements

La pandémie ayant contraint les dirigeants mondiaux à fermer leurs frontières, les migrants ont été victimes de discrimination et de mauvais traitements aux frontières ou laissés dans des centres de détention pour migrants sans protection appropriée. En effet, nos organisations ont reçu des témoignages et des alertes sur les traitements stigmatisant, discriminatoires, inhumains et dégradants subis par les migrants au début de la pandémie. Les migrants ont été soumis à des tests de force, mis en quarantaine et privés d’accès aux services de base. Plusieurs travailleurs migrants et hommes d’affaires ont été expulsés d’hôtels et d’appartements, se sont vu refuser l’accès aux centres commerciaux, aux magasins, aux restaurants et ont imposé des mesures de quarantaine plus strictes. Les témoignages révèlent de nombreux migrants sans abri et privés de nourriture en raison de politiques coercitives et discriminatoires les ciblant particulièrement.

Réfugiés : camps surpeuplés, statuts juridiques et accès aux besoins essentiels

Les migrants et les personnes déplacées vivant dans des abris de fortune, des logements partagés et surpeuplés avec des cuisines et des toilettes communes n’ont pas pu s’isoler correctement et respecter la distanciation sociale. L’accès limité à de nombreuses ressources a laissé les camps de réfugiés surpeuplés sans installations appropriées pour éviter les risques sanitaires et l’anxiété de contracter le virus. Dans certains pays, les réfugiés ont déclenché une grève pour obtenir un soutien financier adéquat.

Dans de nombreux pays, les services d’immigration sont toujours fermés, ce qui accroît la vulnérabilité des sans-papiers, soucieux de leur statut juridique. De nombreux réfugiés ou migrants ne peuvent pas consulter un médecin et craignent des frais de santé onéreux ou d’être renvoyés dans leur pays d’origine que la plupart du temps, ils ont fui de force.

En outre, l’isolement imposé par des mesures restrictives a exacerbé la santé mentale et le bien-être psychosocial déjà fragiles des réfugiés et des migrants. La plupart des migrantes et des réfugiées sont toujours exposées à la violence sexuelle et certaines survivantes de violences sexuelles et sexistes n’ont pas accès aux services appropriés sensibles au genre.

Un appel à la solidarité pendant Covid19 et au-delà : il est temps de tirer des leçons

Si la pandémie a stoppé les déplacements mondiaux pendant un certain temps, la réouverture des frontières devrait accorder une attention particulière à ceux qui ont vécu sans soins et qui ont besoin de solidarité et de protection. La pandémie a montré une fragilité socio-économique collective, qui ne peut être combattue que collectivement.

Le groupe de travail sur les migrations et la torture en Afrique est préoccupé par l’inévitable crise sociale et économique qui pourrait avoir un effet négatif sur les groupes les plus vulnérables et appelle :

  • Les services d’immigration à étendre la validité des documents afin de permettre aux réfugiés et aux demandeurs d’asile de bénéficier des mesures sociales prises pour le reste de la population.
  • Les forces de sécurité aux frontières à traiter avec dignité les demandeurs d’asile et les migrants
  • Les entités de protection sociale à fournir des services de base à toutes les populations de migrants quel que soit leur statut juridique ;
  • Les gouvernements à garantir l’accès aux soins de santé pour les réfugiés, les demandeurs d’asile et les migrants et ; annuler tous les frais médicaux pendant la période du Covid-19
  • Les gouvernements à assurer la disponibilité de masques, de kits hygiéniques et alimentaires et un hébergement d’urgence et d’abris sûrs pour ceux qui partent dans des camps surpeuplés ou pour les sans-abris.
  • Les gouvernements à veiller à ce que les migrants et les réfugiés aient accès aux services de santé mentale pour gérer les effets de l’isolement et de la quarantaine qui ont exacerbé la violence sexiste.

Signataires : 

  • Organisation Mondiale Contre la Torture (OMCT)
  • Ligue Tchadienne DH (réseau) /Tchad
  • Forum Tunisien pour les Droits Économiques et Sociaux (FTDES) /Tunisie
  • Independent Medico-Legal Unit (IMLU) /Kenya
  • African Centre for Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture Victims / Uganda
  • Association Malienne pour la Survie au Sahel (AMSS) /Mali
  • Alternative Espaces Citoyens/ Niger
  • Réseau Migration développement (REMIDEV) / Sénégal
  • Africa Centre for Justice and Peace Studies (ACJPS) /Soudan
  • Asociación Pro Derechos Humanos de España (APDHE)/Spain
  • Antigone/Italy

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
S'il vous plaît entrer votre nom ici

*