Tunisia: Anatomy of a Forced Deportation to Libya

0
4131

Tunisia: Anatomy of a Forced Deportation to Libya

Tunisia, July 5th, 2023

A group of 20 migrants and asylum seekers from Western and Central Africa were forcibly displaced to the Tunisian-Libyan border (near Ben Guerdane) on the morning of July 2nd by the Tunisian military and National Guard officers .

The group is in desperate need of help. There are six women (including two pregnant women, one close to giving birth), a 16-year-old girl from Cameroon, and 13 men in total. Two of the men are Cameroonian asylum seekers registered with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR). The group consists of individuals from Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Mali, Guinea, and Chad.

These people, together with 28 other persons were initially arrested on Saturday, July 1st, in a house in Jbeniana, about 35 KM from Sfax. They report that authorities, including police officers, National Guard members, and military officers raided the house where they were staying. The 48 people were afterwards arrested and taken to the police station of Jbeniana. Their passports and identification documents were checked and recorded.

The police then reportedly divided the 48 individuals into two groups. The first group, consisting of 28 people, who we are in contact with, is unaware of what happened to the other group.

The group of 28 people was moved to Ben Guerdane, where they were transferred between three National Guard bases and military bases, subjected to beatings and mistreatment, before being left at the Libyan border. The National Guard detained eight individuals (a minor boy and seven men) and deported the remaining twenty individuals to Libya. Their mobile phones were destroyed, and their money was stolen.

On July 4th, a second group of 100 migrant and refugee individuals was deported to the same location at the Libyan border. The group consists of various nationalities, including Ivorian, Cameroonian, and Guinean, with at least 12 children aged between 6 months and 5 years.

 

This expulsion is similar to other forced deportations happening between Libya and Algeria, which have been criticized by people on the move  from western and central Africa. Additionally, there have been reports of waves of arrests and violence against migrants and refugees in the city of Sfax in recent days.

The undersigned organizations condemn the human rights violations endured by these migrant individuals, asylum seekers, and refugees. We urge Tunisian authorities to provide clarifications on these events and urgently intervene to ensure the immediate care and support of these individuals.

Liste des Organisations signataires

 

  • Association des Ivorien Actifs en Tunisie – ASSIVAT
  • Association pour le Leadership et le Développement en Afrique – ALDA
  • Association Tunisienne de Soutien aux Minorités – ATSM
  • BorderlineEurope – Menschenrechte ohne Grenzen e.V
  • EuroMed Droits
  • Forum tunisien pour les droits économiques et sociaux (FTDES)
  • Iuventa-crew
  • Ligue Algérienne pour la Défense des Droits Humains (LADDH)
  • Louise Michel MV
  • Maldusa
  • med
  • Migreurop
  • Minority Rights Group International
  • OnBorders
  • Organisation Marocaine Des Droits Humains (OMDH)
  • Organisation mondiale contre la torture (OMCT)
  • r42-sailandrescue
  • RESQSHIP
  • Salvamento Marítimo Humanitario
  • Sea-Watch
  • Syrian Centre for Media and Freedom of Expression (SCM)
  • Tamkeen for Legal Aid and Human Rights
  • Watch the Med – Alarmphone

Tunisie : anatomie d’un refoulement forcé vers la Libye

0
3621

Tunisie le 05 juillet 2023

Un groupe de 20 migrant·es et demandeurs·ses d’asile venant de l’Afrique subsaharienne a été expulsé vers la frontière tuniso-libyenne (proche de Ben Guerdane) le matin du 2 juillet par des militaires et agents de la garde nationale tunisienne.

Le groupe a besoin d’une assistance urgente. Au total, le groupe comprend six femmes (dont deux enceintes y compris une proche de sa date d’accouchement), une jeune fille camerounaise de 16 ans, et 13 hommes. Deux des hommes sont des demandeurs d’asile camerounais enregistrés par le Haut-Commissariat aux Réfugiés des Nations Unies (HCR). Les membres du groupe sont de nationalités ivoirienne, camerounaise, malienne, guinéenne, tchadienne.

Ces personnes ont tout d’abord été arrêtées le samedi 1er juillet dans une maison à Jbeniana, à environ 35 km de Sfax. Elles affirment que les autorités (comprenant des policiers, des gardes nationaux et des militaires) ont fait une descente dans la maison où elles se trouvaient. Les autorités ont arrêté les 48 personnes présentes dans la maison et les ont conduites au poste de police de Jbeniana. Leurs passeports/documents d’identité ont été examiné et les informations enregistrées.

La police aurait ensuite divisé les 48 personnes en deux groupes. Le premier groupe (composé de 28 personnes) avec lequel des sont en contact ne savent pas ce qui est arrivé à l’autre groupe.

Le groupe de 28 personnes a été déplacées à Ben Guerdane, où elles auraient été déplacées entre trois bases de la garde nationale et des bases militaires, battues et maltraitées avant d’être déposées à la frontière libyenne. La garde nationale a retenu huit personnes (un garçon mineur et sept hommes) et expulsé les vingt personnes restantes vers la Libye. Leurs téléphones portables ont été cassés, et leur argent leur a été volé.

Le 04 juillet, un second groupe de 100 personnes migrantes et refugiées ont été expulsé au même endroit vers la frontière libyenne. Le groupe comprend plusieurs nationalités notamment ivoiriennes, camerounaises, Guinéennes dont au moins 12 enfants (âgés entre 6 mois et 5 ans).

Ces expulsions font écho à d’autres expulsions forcées menées entre la Libye et l’Algérie et dénoncées par des personnes migrantes originaires d’Afrique subsaharienne. A cela s’ajoute, des vagues d’arrestations et de violences envers les personnes migrantes et refugiées, ces derniers jours dans la ville de Sfax.

Les organisations signataires dénoncent les violations de droits humains dont sont victimes les personnes migrantes, demandeuses d’asile et refugiées et demandent aux autorités tunisiennes de donner des clarifications sur ces faits et d’intervenir en urgence pour assurer une prise en charge urgences ces personnes.

Liste des Organisations signataires

 

  • Association des Ivorien Actifs en Tunisie – ASSIVAT
  • Association pour le Leadership et le Développement en Afrique – ALDA
  • Association Tunisienne de Soutien aux Minorités – ATSM
  • BorderlineEurope – Menschenrechte ohne Grenzen e.V
  • EuroMed Droits
  • Forum tunisien pour les droits économiques et sociaux (FTDES)
  • Iuventa-crew
  • Ligue Algérienne pour la Défense des Droits Humains (LADDH)
  • Louise Michel MV
  • Maldusa
  • med
  • Migreurop
  • Minority Rights Group International
  • OnBorders
  • Organisation Marocaine Des Droits Humains (OMDH)
  • Organisation mondiale contre la torture (OMCT)
  • r42-sailandrescue
  • RESQSHIP
  • Salvamento Marítimo Humanitario
  • Sea-Watch
  • Syrian Centre for Media and Freedom of Expression (SCM)
  • Tamkeen for Legal Aid and Human Rights
  • Watch the Med – Alarmphone