(Français) Communiqué de la Rencontre des peuples pour la dignité des migrant-e-s DECLARATION DE TUNIS

0
4903

 

ENG

Statement of the Peoples’ Meeting for the Dignity of Migrants

July 20, 2023

 

TUNIS DECLARATION

 

In Africa, no development without mobility!

In Europe, no respite without the development of Africa!

 

Civil society associations from Tunisia, the Maghreb, West Africa, and Europe met in Tunis on July 20 to express and affirm their disagreement with the migration policies pursued by governments. Walls are rising on all horizons, reflecting a disastrous war on human mobility. Deprived of resources or threatened by conflict and natural disaster, people have neither the right to migrate, nor the right not to migrate, nor the right to be rescued, ensnared by those who govern them and those who dominate the world.

Disinformation, propaganda and the instrumentalization of fear are engulfing all countries in a social and political regression that sets up the militarization of borders and the arms race as the only panacea. We denounce the governmental meeting to be held in Rome on July 23, and bring the following to the attention of African and European public opinion:

Following weeks of intense negotiations and multiple visits by European Union representatives led by the Italian Prime Minister, the EU and Tunisia have finally signed a memorandum covering subjects ranging from migration to economic cooperation, the latter being nothing more than a smokescreen designed to hide the essential. Migration is in fact the real issue at stake in this agreement, which remains unclear as to its modus operandi and implementation. We believe that the agreement responds primarily to the needs and expectations of the European Union, with no consideration for the challenges facing the countries on the southern shores of the Mediterranean.

The European Union is clearly pursuing its strategy of externalizing its borders and preventing the entry of migrants deemed undesirable. After the migrants’ host crisis of 2015, triggered by the movement of populations fleeing imperialist wars in Europe’s eastern and southern neighborhoods, the EU’s demands include the criminalization of humanitarian operations at sea and the subservience of African countries such as Niger and now Tunisia.

In the case of Tunisia, we denounce once again, as under Ben Ali’s regime in 1995, agreements signed without any Maghreb and African consultation, without any real democratic debate and in the absence of a representative parliament, stigmatizing any free voice in society that expresses its criticism, refusal, and indignation.

The European right and extreme right are delighted with this agreement, which fits in perfectly with their anti-migrant vision and the proliferation of fear of foreigners among increasingly xenophobic and racist public opinion. Tunisia’s President Kais Said, in a similar move to silence the opposition and civil society, is attempting to instrumentalize this agreement by presenting it as a means of protecting the country from “hordes of invading sub-Saharan migrants”, as announced in his February 21 “speech of shame”. The independent actors of Tunisian civil society are once again expressing their refusal here and now and are calling for the debate on migration to be opened, so as to refocus the dialogue on structural problems linked to poverty, conflict, wealth grabbing and environmental destruction.

We also recall that despite the adoption in Tunisia of a law against racism and xenophobia, the only one of its kind in the Maghreb and African region, we are witnessing the rise of hate speech and anti-migrant hunting. We consider the sad events in Sfax to be a major turning point and a humanitarian catastrophe.

The Nadhor-Mellila tragedy in Morocco in 2022, which claimed the lives of 27 migrants and led to the disappearance of hundreds more, as well as the recent sinking of a boat carrying over 700 people in the central Mediterranean, and the discovery of a decomposing baby on a beach near Barcelona after a boat sank off the Algerian coast, are a sequence of tragedies and evidence of the results of security policies and the common destiny of North Africans, sub-Saharans and Europeans. To conceal the intertwined destinies of these peoples from the public eye is the product of irresponsible political manipulation at odds with reality.

Saying that we are all Africans is not an empty phrase; it means denouncing all forms of racism in both North and South, and proclaiming the imperative of solidarity and unity around the principles of human rights and respect for the right to equal mobility of all citizens of the world. Civil society actors from North Africa, Africa and Europe are called upon to unite their voices to alert public opinion to the impasse of current policies. The Europe of capitals has turned migration into an issue that can be solved by monetizing political asylum, flouting international law and outsourcing borders to the tune of billions of euros, leaving the governed to believe that their destiny is not linked to those of other peoples in the region, and that the fortress walls will withstand the blows of those who have lost hope.

We recall here the Nairobi Charter of 1981, which states that African states “are conscious of their duty to liberate totally Africa, whose peoples continue to struggle for their true independence and dignity, and undertake to eliminate colonialism, neo-colonialism, apartheid, Zionism, foreign military bases of aggression and all forms of discrimination, particularly those based on race, ethnicity, color, sex, language, religion or political opinion”.

We see the forthcoming meeting in Rome, announced as a Euro-African summit, as a continuation and reinforcement of ineffective and misleading policies whose sole aim is large-scale refoulement and the justification of inhumane and discriminatory treatment of migrants, refugees, and asylum seekers. We recall that in both North and South, the authorities are paternalistic, disempowering citizens and increasingly indulging in authoritarian reflexes that criminalize solidarity and target rights activists and organizations. In increasingly unrepresentative democracies, we are witnessing a political competition between technocrats battling for power and interest groups. Our response is unequivocal: we refuse to see the agreement between Tunisia and the EU as a model to be followed, we denounce it and call for a responsible and participatory dialogue including civil, political, trade union and citizen forces to promote alternative and sustainable solutions, which are conducive to rights.

We, the civil societies of Tunisia, the Maghreb, Africa, Europe, and the rest of the world, must act as a matter of urgency. We continue to defend hospitality against hatred, acceptance against refoulement, open borders against imprisonment, and we call on public opinion the world over to say:

  • We affirm that mobility is an indispensable factor in Africa’s development, call for respect for freedom of movement on the continent, and demand the urgent establishment of a universal social protection system enabling mobility and recognition of social achievements at regional and international level.
  • We call on trade unions to redouble their efforts to regulate the governance of worker mobility, and actively contribute to solutions that promote rights and social progress in both countries of origin and destination.
  • We renew our call for the regularization of undocumented migrants, the removal of administrative barriers and the fight against the exploitation of vulnerable workers trapped by a predatory and hypocritical economic model.
  • We insist on the need to take a serious look at the issue of brain drain and the fatal loss it represents for the development of countries of origin.
  • We call on migrants to self-organize as interlocutors in the process of protecting victims and integrating into host societies.
  • We call on the women’s movement to integrate migrant women as a driving force in the fight against patriarchy and the exploitation of women.
  • We call on the international community to pilot a system of rescue and identification of victims, and to put an end to murderous punitive interventions by security forces.
  • We call for a proactive policy to make cultural diversity and Co-creativity the living forces of a better way of living together.

 

We reiterate that the ability of human societies to adapt and social progress cannot be the exclusive preserve of the political class, and that it is above all a matter of participation, listening to and confronting the living forces that drive a human society on the move. Taking charge of this program of struggle and mobilization requires the union of all our efforts and energies. It is more than urgent to put in place a framework for struggle that will unite us in the tough battles we must wage in the coming months and years.

For a future of social progress in the heart of the Mediterranean!

For a Mediterranean at the heart of social progress!

Communiqué de la Rencontre des peuples pour la dignité des migrant-e-s DECLARATION DE TUNIS

0
5094

Communiqué de la Rencontre des peuples pour la dignité des migrant-e-s

20 juillet 2023

DECLARATION DE TUNIS

 

En Afrique, pas de développement sans mobilité !

En Europe, pas de répit sans le développement de l’Afrique !

 

Les associations de la société civile tunisienne, du Maghreb, de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et d’Europe se sont réunies à Tunis le 20 juillet pour exprimer et affirmer leur désaccord concernant les politiques migratoires menées par les Etats. Les murs se dressent sur tous les horizons et témoignent d’une guerre désastreuse contre la mobilité humaine. Privés de ressources ou sous la menace des conflits et des catastrophes naturelles, les individus n’ont ni le droit de migrer, ni le droit de ne pas migrer, ni le droit d’être secourus, pris au piège par ceux qui les gouvernent et ceux qui dominent le monde.

La désinformation, la propagande et l’instrumentalisation de la peur engouffrent tous les pays dans une régression sociale et politique qui érigent la militarisation des frontières et la course à l’armement comme unique panacée. Nous dénonçons la rencontre gouvernementale qui se tiendra le 23 juillet à Rome et apportons à l’attention de l’opinion publique africaine et européenne les éléments suivants :

Suite à des semaines d’intenses négociations et de multiples visites des représentants de l’Union Européenne menés par la première ministre italienne, l’UE et la Tunisie ont finalement signé un mémorandum couvrant des sujets allant de la migration à la coopération économique, ce deuxième volet n’étant qu’un enfumage qui a pour but de cacher l’essentiel. La migration constitue en effet l’enjeu véritable de cet accord qui reste flou dans ses modes opératoires et sa mise en application. Nous considérons que l’accord répond en premier lieu aux besoins et attentes de l’Union Européenne sans considérations quant aux défis qui se posent pour les pays de la rive Sud de la Méditerranée.

L’Union Européenne poursuit clairement sa stratégie d’externalisation de ses frontières et d’empêchement des migrants jugés indésirables. Après la crise de l’accueil des migrants de 2015 engendrée par le mouvement des populations fuyant les guerres impérialistes dans le voisinage Est et Sud de l’Europe, les exigences de l’UE passent par la criminalisation des opérations humanitaires en mer et la vassalisation des pays africains comme le Niger et désormais la Tunisie.

Dans le cas de la Tunisie, nous dénonçons une fois de plus, comme sous le régime de Ben Ali en 1995, des accords signés sans aucune concertation maghrébine et africaine, sans réel débat démocratique et en l’absence d’un parlement représentatif, stigmatisant toute voix libre de la société qui exprime ses critiques, son refus et son indignation.

La droite et l’extrême droite européenne se félicitent de cet accord qui rentre dans sa vision, hostile aux migrants et répondant parfaitement à la prolifération de la peur de l’étranger auprès des opinions publiques de plus en plus xénophobes et racistes. Le président de la Tunisie Kais Said, dans cette même démarche et voulant réduire l’opposition et la société civile au silence, tente d’instrumentaliser cet accord en le présentant comme un moyen de protéger le pays des « hordes de migrants subsahariens envahisseurs » comme annoncé dans son discours « de la honte » du 21 Février. Les acteurs indépendants de la société civile tunisienne expriment de nouveau leur refus ici et maintenant et appellent à désenclaver le débat sur la migration pour recentrer le dialogue sur les problèmes structurels liés à la pauvreté, aux conflits, à l’accaparation des richesses et à la destruction de l’environnement.

Nous rappelons également que malgré l’adoption en Tunisie d’une loi contre le racisme et la xénophobie unique en son genre dans la région maghrébine et africaine, nous sommes témoins de la montée d’un discours de haine ainsi qu’une chasse anti-migrants. Nous considérons que les tristes événements de Sfax constituent un tournant majeur et une catastrophe humanitaire.

Nous rappelons également que le drame de Nadhor-Mellila en 2022 au Maroc ayant coûté la vie à 27 migrants et provoqué la disparition de centaines de migrants, ainsi que le naufrage récent d’un bateau transportant plus de 700 personnes en Méditerrané centrale, ou encore la découverte du corps d’un bébé en état de décomposition sur une plage proche de Barcelone faisant suite au naufrage d’un bateau au départ des côtes algériennes, constituent une succession de drames et de preuves des résultats des politiques sécuritaires et du destin commun des maghrébins, subsahariens et européens. Rendre invisible aux yeux des populations l’enchevêtrement des destinées des peuples relève d’une manipulation politicienne irresponsable en rupture avec la réalité.

Dire que nous sommes tous des africains ne sont pas de vains mots, il revient à dénoncer toutes les formes de racisme au Nord comme au Sud et proclame l’impératif de solidarité et d’union autour des principes de droits humains et du respect du droit à une égale mobilité de tous les citoyens du monde. Les acteurs de la société civile du Maghreb, d’Afrique et d’Europe sont appelés à unir leur voix pour alerter l’opinion publique face à l’impasse des politiques actuelles. L’Europe des capitales a fait de la migration une question soluble dans la monétisation de l’asile politique, le bafouement du droit international et l’externalisation des frontières à coups de milliards d’euros, laissant croire aux gouvernés que leur destinée n’est pas liée à celles des autres peuples de la région et que les murs de la forteresse résisteront aux coups de massue de ceux qui ont perdu espoir.

Nous rappelons ici la charte de Nairobi de 1981 qui stipule que les Etats africains « conscients de leur devoir de libérer totalement l’Afrique dont les peuples continuent à lutter pour leur indépendance véritable et leur dignité et s’engagent à éliminer le colonialisme, le néocolonialisme, l’apartheid, le sionisme, les bases militaires étrangères d’agression et toutes formes de discrimination, notamment celles fondées sur la race, l’ethnie, la couleur, le sexe, la langue, la religion ou l’opinion politique ».

Pour nous, la rencontre qui se tiendra prochainement à Rome, annoncée comme un sommet euro-africain, s’inscrit dans la continuité et le renforcement des politiques inefficaces et mensongères ayant pour unique finalité le refoulement à grande échelle et la justification des traitements inhumains et discriminants à l’égard des migrants, des réfugiés et des demandeurs d’asile. Nous rappelons qu’au Nord comme au Sud, le pouvoir est paternaliste, déresponsabilise les citoyens et se complait de plus en plus dans des réflexes autoritaires qui criminalisent la solidarité et visent les militants et organisations de droits. Dans les démocraties de moins en moins représentatives, nous sommes témoins d’une compétition politicienne de technocrates qui se livrent une bataille pour s’accaparer le pouvoir et servir des groupes d’intérêt. Notre réponse est sans équivoque : nous refusons de faire de l’accord entre la Tunisie et l’UE un modèle à suivre, nous le dénonçons et demandons un dialogue responsable et participatif incluant les forces civiles, politiques, syndicales et citoyennes pour promouvoir des solutions alternatives et durables, porteuses de droits.

Il est urgent d’agir, nous sociétés civiles tunisienne, magrébine, africaine, européenne et internationale. Nous continuons à défendre l’hospitalité contre la haine, l’accueil contre le refoulement l’ouverture des frontières contre l’emmurement, nous nous adressons à l’opinion public du monde entier pour leur dire :

  • Nous affirmons que la mobilité est un facteur indispensable pour le développement de l’Afrique, appelons au respect de la liberté de circulation sur le continent et revendiquons la mise en place urgente d’un système de protection sociale universel permettant la mobilité et la reconnaissance des acquis sociaux au niveau régional et international
  • Nous appelons les syndicats à redoubler d’efforts pour réguler la gouvernance de la mobilité des travailleur-se-s et contribuer activement à des solutions porteuses de droits et de progrès social à la fois dans les pays d’origine et de destination
  • Nous renouvelons l’appel à la régularisation des migrants sans papiers, aux entraves administratives et à la lutte contre l’exploitation des travailleur-se-s vulnérables piégé-e-s par un modèle économique prédateur et hypocrite ;
  • Nous insistons sur la nécessité de considérer d’une manière sérieuse la question de l’exode des compétences et l’amputation fatale que cela représente pour le développement des pays d’origine
  • Nous appelons les migrant-e-s à s’auto-organiser pour constituer des interlocuteurs dans le processus de protection des victimes et d’intégration dans les sociétés d’accueil ;
  • Nous appelons le mouvement des femmes à intégrer les migrantes comme force motrice dans la lutte contre le patriarcat et l’exploitation des femmes ;
  • Nous appelons la communauté internationale à piloter un système de sauvetage et d’identification des victimes et mettre un terme aux interventions punitives meurtrières des forces de sécurité ;
  • Nous appelons à une politique volontariste pour faire de la diversité culturelle et la Co créativité les forces vivantes d’un meilleur vivre ensemble

Nous rappelons que la capacité d’adaptation des sociétés humaines et le progrès social ne peuvent être l’exclusivité de la classe politique, que cela relève avant tout de la participation, de l’écoute et de la confrontation des forces vives qui animent une société humaine en mouvement. Prendre en charge ce programme de lutte et de mobilisation nécessite l’union de nos efforts et de toutes nos énergies. Il est plus qu’urgent de mettre en place un cadre de lutte qui nous unis dans les rudes combats que nous devons menés dans les prochains mois et années.

 

Pour un avenir porteur de progrès social au cœur de la Méditerranée !

Pour une Méditerranée au cœur du progrès social des peuples !

.