Mining delegations in Gafsa: economic and social vulnerability impede the right to a decent life!

0
1739

Mining delegations in Gafsa: economic and social vulnerability impede the right to a decent life!

Rihab Mabrouki 

« There can be no sustainable development without peace and no peace without sustainable development and no development or peace without human rights ». This was the slogan of the 2005 world summit, and it refers to human rights as part of human dignity, which was remarkably absent in some parts of the Tunisian Republic, including the governorate of Gafsa with its mining delegations. Unemployment, mismanagement of operational programs and the resulting social disenchantment, protests and continuous sit-ins are not the only threats to the security of these communities. There is a significant lack of resources to facilitate the fulfillment of basic rights in the delegations of Om Laarayes and Redeyef, such as health, and transportation, which have been marginalized for decades due to exclusionary policies in these areas. Thus, the government programs have failed to achieve the necessary and equitable balance in terms of the level of interest in the infrastructure of hospital facilities and the most basic sectors.

This report by the Tunisian Forum for Economic and Social Rights reveals the impact of the lack of infrastructure in various sectors on the economic and social vulnerability of the populations of these regions as well as the violation of the most important rights to life in a part of the republic due to the absence of components for a decent life.

Marginalization of the most important living rights: the right to health as an example 

“The employees of the hospital in Redeyef (Gafsa governorate southwest of Tunisia) did not give me any information, except that the medical equipment and medicines I need to complete the treatment are not available here and that I have to go to the regional hospital or a university hospital to access the treatment.” With a voice and features that reflect a state of oppression, Mrs Mabrouka told us about her daily suffering of shuttling between the delegation of Redeyef and the city of Gafsa for treatment and hospitalization after being diagnosed with cancer. She says: “In September 2020, I felt some discomfort and after running the necessary tests, I was diagnosed with cancer. I had to go to the regional hospital in Gafsa because of the absence of an oncology and radiology departments in the hospital of Redeyef and the lack of a senior medical officer to supervise it. She adds: “It was not easy for me to travel by public transport. Often the bus breaks down and since I must travel, I had to rent a car on my own expense.”

The story of Mrs Mabrouka, the 60 year old mining woman, is not unique here, there are dozens of others who suffer from various illnesses and cannot afford to receive free treatment and they must, therefore, face the burden of travelling to cities or other governorates in order to enjoy their right to health. According to the Tunisian Constitution in Article 38: “Health is the right of every human being. The State guarantees prevention and health care for every citizen and provides the necessary means to ensure the safety and quality of health services. This is often impossible due to fragile health and transportation services and weak infrastructure, reflecting the marginalization of the most important rights, namely the right to a decent life, which in turn includes a range of rights. The COVID-19 pandemic highlighted this fact, as it acted as a wake-up call to the economic precariousness generated by the negligence and short-sightedness of successive governments. The great gap has grown between the legislative consecration of the most fundamental rights and the effective implementation of these laws. This gap has been aggravated by the economic and social crisis in these regions. This continues in spite of the growing interest of the States, year after year, to ensure the right to a decent life by consolidating it through numerous legal texts in most countries of the world and developing universal instruments, conventions and protocols, as well as international law guaranteeing these fundamental rights.

 

Hospital of Redeyef: Absence of certain services and shortage of specialized doctors

During the pandemic, there was a significant shortage of staff to care for patients at the local hospital in Redeyef, as well as a shortage of oxygen condensers and other medical equipment. This was pointed out by the head of radiology in the hospital of Redeyef, Hedi Boudara during our meeting held on Wednesday, January 5, 2022, where he confirmed the lack of a range of vital services in the hospital, such as the radiology service, the pediatric service, the surgical service and the obstetric service, as well as the lack of resuscitators in addition to the lack of analysis laboratories for diabetes, blood diseases and heart. These problems occur in a town having about 27,000 inhabitants and located about 50 kilometers from the center of the governorate. Although these services have been built for years, the provision of the necessary medical equipment and the assignment of specialized doctors have been the subject of expectation and false promises from the Ministry, especially in the field of surgery, obstetrics and pediatrics, this has negatively affected the quality of health services offered to citizens, which found themselves in the epidemiological waves, facing a shortage of resuscitation doctors in addition to the problem of oxygen, since a shortage of this substance was observed as a hospital need amounted to 40 to 45 bottles of oxygen per day and instead only 10 bottles per day were available. This forced the hospital staff to request the transfer of patients to the regional hospital of Gafsa, which contributed to the overflow of its capacity. For cancer patients, emergency cases are received and due to the lack of radiotherapy, they are directed to the governorate of Sfax or to the regional hospital of Gafsa for chemotherapy. This situation has persisted for some time despite an estimated budget of 02 billion and 200 million donations from the Bank of Kuwait for the rehabilitation of the hospital. 

Lack of equipment and medical materials in some departments of the Hospital of Redeyef

Radhwan Tabbabi, secretary general of the health union of the hospital of Redeyef, stresses that the lack of obstetric and surgical services has affected the quality of treatment and has led to the loss of human and constitutional right to health. He says that the violence against the medical and para-medical staff by the citizen has been further exacerbated due to erroneous and centralized political choices. 

Marginalization of the transport sector

The health sector is not the only one to suffer from the lack and inability of citizens to enjoy their rights guaranteed by the Constitution. The transport sector has also been marginalized over the decades. And despite the many protests and demands of citizens to improve the quality of services provided in this area, the policy of procrastination and disregard faced by social demands has continued to reflect the failure of the government to launch innovative and urgent actions and strategic development programs that would end the marginalization affecting all sectors.

Buses that provide transportation for citizens in mining towns

Aida, 34 years old, mother of two children, lives in the city of Om Laarayes and works in the city of Redeyef, her daily commute between the two cities makes her wait for hours for a transport that would allow her to return home after a hard day’s work as a cleaning lady in a bank branch. She says, “I start my work at 7 am and since there is no bus between my city and the city of Redeyef, I have to wait for the bus coming from the center of the city of Gafsa for hours, but its delay caused by its obsolescence and lack of maintenance force me to absence sometimes, which can affect my work.” Aida, like other citizens, ask for a public transport service that allows travel between the two cities and avoiding them the problems of waiting or opting for private cars that work clandestinely and without a legal permit to increase the fare, taking advantage of the conditions of lack of transport to secure the transport of passengers.

The transport company in Gafsa only provides one bus, which makes two trips a day, one from the center at 6:30 a.m. to reach the city of Redeyef at 08:30 p.m., passing through Metlaoui and Om Laarayes and returning at 13:00. For the rest of the time, many people are forced to wait for hours in stations that have no facilities or maintenance, whose chief is absent, and all guidance offices are closed. These conditions force citizens to turn to renting private vehicles to get to work or to meet their needs. 

The interior areas, including delegations of the governorate of Gafsa, are in front of the protests against the deterioration of the state of public transport. Citizens of the delegation of Redeyef, under the supervision of civil society organizations, the most important of which is the Tunisian Forum of the mining basin, have organized protest rallies to denounce the lack of public buses and their malfunction due to poor maintenance which they complain in many cases.

This situation continues to be while the parties responsible for their obligations are neglecting the maintenance and renovation of the bus fleet and the provision of adequate waiting conditions in public stations.

 

Protest against the deterioration of transportation services

Political choices are an obstacle to progress!

Today, we have to conclude a new social contract between governments and peoples, as the secretary general of the United Nations, Antonio Guterres, has said. The traditional concepts of rights that today’s policies have shaped, and which the economic and social situation of these regions has contributed to its conception, have been mainly concerned with the theoretical aspect of rights only and are not accessible and available to the population. Its translation into reality or concretization has been incomplete, making it almost non-existent. Thus, the health disparity we have seen during the pandemic and its impact on other sectors is also caused by policy choices. Covid 19 uncovered and exacerbated these fractures through a significant inability to absorb the number of patients in hospitals. As a result, these vital sectors have become a reflection of the injustice to people in the interior regions in terms of development programs and public investments due to policies based on narrow political interests and a limited definition of economic growth which have left basic human rights underfunded, creating inequalities in access to basic social and economic rights.

The obligation to respect the rights of nations requires all means to ensure that all citizens have access to their legally guaranteed rights. This commitment has not been a priority for government action in Tunisia. Today, political decision-makers must review development policies in most regions of the Republic, reflecting the importance given to the effective respect of the most fundamental human rights of citizens and to taking the necessary measures to ensure equal access to quality services in accordance with the law.

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
S'il vous plaît entrer votre nom ici

*

Délégations minières de Gafsa : la vulnérabilité économique et sociale est un obstacle à la garantie du droit à une vie décente !

0
1212

Délégations minières de Gafsa : la vulnérabilité économique et sociale est un obstacle à la garantie du droit à une vie décente !

Rihab Mabrouki

« Il ne peut y avoir de paix sans développement, de développement sans paix, de développement et de paix sans droits humains ». Ainsi, le slogan du sommet mondial de 2005 et qui sont des droits de l’Homme comme partie intégrante de la dignité humaine, qui était absente d’une façon remarquable dans certaines parties de la République tunisienne, y compris le gouvernorat de Gafsa avec ses délégations minières. Le chômage, la mauvaise gestion des programmes opérationnels et le désenchantement social qui en découle, les protestations et les sit-in continus ne sont pas les seuls à menacer la sécurité de ces communautés. Il existe un manque important de ressources disponibles pour faciliter la jouissance des droits fondamentaux dans les délégations de Om Laarayes et Redeyef , tels que la santé, et les transports, qui sont marginalisés depuis des décennies en raison des politiques d’exclusion dans ces domaines. Ainsi l’échec des programmes gouvernementaux pour atteindre l’équilibre nécessaire et équitable dans le niveau d’intérêt pour l’infrastructure des établissements hospitaliers et les secteurs les plus fondamentaux.

Ce rapport au Forum tunisien pour les droits économiques et sociaux révèle l’impact du manque d’infrastructures dans divers secteurs sur la vulnérabilité économique et sociale des populations de ces régions ainsi que le bafouement des plus importants droits à la vie dans une partie de la république en raison de l’absence des composantes pour une vie décente.

Marginalisation des droits de la vie les plus importants : le droit à la santé est un modèle

« Les employés de l’hôpital de Redeyef (gouvernorat de Gafsa Sud-ouest de la Tunisie) ne m’ont donné aucune information, mais que le matériel médical et les médicaments dont j’ai besoin pour terminer le traitement ne sont pas disponibles ici et que je dois aller à l’hôpital régional ou un hôpital universitaire pour accéder au traitement.” Avec une voix et des traits qui reflètent un état d’oppression, la tante Mabrouka nous a parlé de sa souffrance quotidienne de faire la navette entre la délégation de Redeyef et la ville de Gafsa pour le traitement et l’hospitalisation après qu’on lui a diagnostiqué un cancer. Elle dit : « en septembre 2020, j’ai ressenti de la douleur et après les analyses nécessaires, le diagnostic d’un cancer est tombé. J’ai dû me rendre à l’hôpital régional de Gafsa à cause de l’absence du service de cancérologie et du service de radiologie de l’hôpital à Redeyef et de l’absence du cadre médical pour le superviser. Elle ajoute : « ce n’était pas facile pour moi de faire la navette par les transports en commun. Souvent le bus est tombé en panne et je ne pouvais pas me permettre de ne pas me déplacer en raison de ma santé donc j’ai dû louer une voiture avec mes propres moyens. » Le cas de la tante Mabrouka, la femme minière de 60 ans, n’est pas le seul ici, des dizaines d’autres qui souffrent de diverses maladies et n’ont pas les moyens de recevoir un traitement gratuit et ils doivent, par conséquent, faire face au fardeau des déplacements vers les villes ou d’autres gouvernorats afin de jouir de leur droit à la santé. Selon la Constitution Tunisienne dans l’article 38 : « la santé est le droit de tout être humain. L’État garantit la prévention et les soins de santé de chaque citoyen et fournit les moyens nécessaires pour assurer la sécurité et la qualité des services de santé. » Cela est souvent impossible en raison de la fragilité des services de santé et de transport et de la faiblesse des infrastructures, reflétant la marginalisation des droits les plus importants, à savoir le droit à une vie décente, qui comprend à son tour un éventail de droits. La pandémie de COVID-19 a clairement établi ce fait, car elle a servi d’alarme pour signaler la précarité économique générée par la négligence et la réflexion à court terme de la part des gouvernements successifs. Le grand fossé s’est creusé entre la consécration législative des droits les plus fondamentaux et la mise en œuvre effective de ces lois. Ce gap a aggravé par la crise économique et sociale dans ces régions. Cela se poursuit en dépit de l’intérêt croissant des Etats, année après année, à l’assurance du droit à une vie décente en le consolidant par de nombreux textes juridiques dans la plupart des pays du monde et en développant des instruments, conventions et protocoles universels, ainsi que par le droit international garantissant ces droits fondamentaux.

Hôpital de Redeyef: Absence de certains services et pénurie de médecins spécialisés

Pendant la pandémie, il y a eu une importante pénurie de personnel pour s’occuper des patients à l’hôpital local de Redeyef, ainsi qu’une pénurie de condensateurs d’oxygène et d’autres équipements médicaux. Cela a été souligné par le responsable de la radiologie de l’hôpital de Redeyef, Hedi Boudara lors de notre réunion tenue le mercredi 5 janvier 2022, où il a confirmé l’absence d’un certain nombre de services vitaux dans l’hôpital, tels que le service de radiologie, le service pédiatrique, le service de chirurgie et le service Obstétrique, ainsi que le manque de médecins réanimateurs en plus du manque de laboratoires d’analyse pour le diabète, les maladies sanguines et cardiaques. Tout cela se trouve dans une ville d’environ 27.000 habitants et à environ 50 kilomètres du centre du gouvernorat. Bien que ces services aient été construits depuis des années, la fourniture de l’équipement médical nécessaire et l’affectation de médecins spécialisés ont fait l’objet d’attente et de fausses promesses de la part du Ministère, en particulier dans le domaine de la chirurgie, de l’obstétrie et de la pédiatrie, cela a affecté négativement la qualité des services de santé offerts aux citoyens, qui se sont trouvés los des vagues épidémiologiques, face à une pénurie de médecins de réanimation en plus du problème d’oxygène, puisque qu’une pénurie de cette substance ont été constatée dont les besoins hospitaliers s’élèvent à 40 à 45 flacons d’oxygène par jour et en retour seulement 10 flacons par jour étaient disponibles. Cela obligea le personnel hospitalier à demander le transfert de malades à l’hôpital régional de Gafsa, ce qui a contribué au dépassement de ses capacités. Pour les patients atteints de cancer, les cas d’urgence sont reçus et en raison de l’absence de radiothérapie, ils sont dirigés vers le gouvernorat de Sfax ou à l’hôpital régional de Gafsa pour la chimiothérapie. Cette situation persiste depuis un moment malgré un budget estimé à 02 milliards et 200 millions de dons de la Banque du Koweït pour la réhabilitation de l’hôpital. 

 

Manque d’équipement et de matériel médical dans certains services de l’Hôpital de Redeyef

Radhwan Tabbabi, secrétaire général du syndicat de la santé de l’hôpital de Redeyef, souligne que le manque de services obstétricaux et chirurgicaux a nui à la qualité du traitement et a fait perdre aux gens leur droit humain et constitutionnel à la santé. Il affirme que la violence sur le cadre médical et para médical par le citoyen a été encore exacerbée qui s’est trouvé victime de choix politiques erronés et centralisés. 

 

Marginalisation du secteur de transport

Le secteur de la santé n’est pas le seul à souffrir du manque et de l’incapacité des citoyens de jouir de leurs droits garantis par la Constitution, ainsi que du transport, qui a été marginalisé au fil des décennies. Et malgré la mise en œuvre de nombreuses protestations et demandes des citoyens pour améliorer la qualité des services fournis dans ce domaine, la politique de procrastination et de mépris dont font face les demandes sociales a continué de refléter l’échec du gouvernement à lancer des actions innovantes et urgentes et des programmes de développement stratégiques qui mettraient fin à la marginalisation qui a affecté tous les secteurs.

Des autobus qui sécurisent les déplacements des citoyens dans les villes minières

Aida, 34 ans, mère de deux enfants, vit dans la ville d’Om Laarayes et travaille dans la ville de Redeyef, son déplacement quotidien entre les deux villes la fait attendre pendant des heures un transport qui lui permettrait de rentrer chez elle après une dure journée de travail comme femme de ménage dans une succursale bancaire. Elle dit, “Je commence mon travail à 7 heures du matin et parce qu’il n’y a pas de bus entre ma ville et la ville de Redeyef, je dois attendre le bus venant du centre de la ville de Gafsa pendant des heures, mais son retard en raison de son obsolescence et le manque d’entretien me font m’absenter parfois, ce qui peut affecter mon travail.” Aida, comme d’autres citoyens, demandent un service de transport public qui permet de voyager entre les deux villes et leur évitant les problèmes d’attente ou de location des voitures privées qui travaillent clandestinement et sans un permis légal pour augmenter le tarif, profiter des conditions de manque de transport pour sécuriser le transport de passagers.

La société de transports à Gafsa fournit un seul bus, qui assure deux voyages par jour, un aller du centre à 6:30 a.m. pour rejoindre la ville de Redeyef à 08:30 p.m., en passant par Metlaoui et Om Laarayes et un retour à 13:00. Pour le reste du temps, beaucoup de gens sont obligés d’attendre des heures à l’intérieur des stations qui ne présente aucun aménagement ni entretien, dont le chef est absent, et tous les bureaux d’orientation sont fermés. Ces conditions obligent les citoyens à se tourner vers la location de véhicules privés pour assurer leurs déplacements au travail ou pour assurer leurs besoins

Les zones intérieures, y compris les délégations du gouvernorat de Gafsa, sont au-devant des protestations contre la détérioration de l’état des transports publics. Des citoyens de la délégation de Redeyef, sous la supervision d’organisations de la société civile dont la plus importante est le Forum tunisien du bassin minier, ont organisé des rassemblements protestataires pour dénoncer le manque de bus publics et leur disfonctionnement dus au mauvais entretien dont ils se plaignent dans de nombreux cas.

Cette situation continue d’être alors que les parties responsables de leurs obligations c-à-d négliger l’entretien et la rénovation de la flotte d’autobus et la fourniture de conditions d’attente adéquates dans les gares publiques.

 

Protestation pour dénoncer la détérioration des services de transport

Les choix politiques sont un obstacle pour le progrès !

Aujourd’hui, nous devons conclure un nouveau contrat social entre les gouvernements et les peuples, comme l’a dit le secrétaire général des Nations Unies, Antonio Guterres. Les concepts traditionnels des droits que les politiques d’aujourd’hui ont façonnés et dont a contribué à sa conception la situation économique et sociale de ces régions, ont été principalement préoccupés par l’aspect théorique des droits seulement et par le déni de leur accessibilité et de leur disponibilité à la population. Sa traduction sur le terrain ou concrétisation a été quelque peu incomplète, la rendant presque inexistante. Ainsi, la disparité en matière de santé que nous avons constatée pendant la pandémie et ses répercussions sur d’autres secteurs est également causée par des choix politiques. Le Covid 19 a découvert et exacerbé ces fractures par une incapacité significative d’absorber le nombre de patients dans les hôpitaux. De sorte que ces secteurs vitaux sont devenus le visage de l’injustice pour les gens des régions intérieures reflétant les programmes de développement et d’investissements publics et causée par des politiques fondées sur des intérêts politiques étroits et une définition limitée de la croissance économique qui ont laissé les droits humains fondamentaux sous-financés créé des inégalités dans l’accès aux droits sociaux et économiques fondamentaux.

L’obligation de respecter les droits des nations requiert tous les moyens pour garantir à tous les citoyens l’accès à leurs droits légalement garantis. Cet engagement ne figure pas parmi les priorités de l’action gouvernementale en Tunisie. Aujourd’hui, les décideurs politiques doivent revoir les politiques de développement dans la plupart des régions de la République, ceux qui reflètent l’importance accordée au respect effectif des droits humains les plus fondamentaux des citoyens et à la prise des mesures nécessaires pour assurer l’égalité d’accès à des services de qualité conformément à la législation.

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
S'il vous plaît entrer votre nom ici

*